Director’s Note

The story of Marco Polo is never-ending. It lives on in countless retellings. Even today. Someone sets forth into the unknown. He returns and reports. Sometimes his stories are not believed.

No one believed Marco Polo, for instance. They called him a show-off. Messer Milione. Apparently because he claimed everything in China was a lot bigger. Uli Sigg prevented the possibility of no one believing him by amassing the largest collection of contemporary Chinese art. 2,200 pieces of art speak for themselves. And for Uli Sigg, for his Chinese lives.

When I met Sigg during the filming of Bird’s Nest, I immediately noticed that this man doesn’t live just one life, but many. Simultaneously and consecutively. I could count at least three. He was living three exceptional lives.

In 1979 he belonged to those adventurers who wanted to convince communist-controlled China of the benefits of a market economy. He succeeded. For twelve long, hard, exciting and sometimes absurd years he directed the first joint venture in Beijing.

In 1995 he was appointed Swiss ambassador to Beijing. Naturally he was more than just a typical career diplomat. After all, he knew President Jiang Zemin from his days at Schindler, and he was familiar with the underground art scene. Artists such as Fang Lijun or Wang Guangyi never saw Sigg as a collector who wanted to earn money. Ai Weiwei even negotiated a lower price for his own works. These people knew that the majority of contemporary Chinese art of this time would have been destroyed or lost forever if Sigg hadn’t taken care of it.

For almost twenty years, Sigg has been commuting between his castle on the water near Lucerne and China. That is how we met in 2003. Herzog and de Meuron sought out his help in the preparation for the competition to build the Olympic Stadium in Beijing. Without him, Jacques and Pierre told me then, we will never get this done. Back then Sigg was already the most influential man when it came to matters of contemporary Chinese art. He consulted on politics and economics.

However, this is not what made his exceptional lives so interesting. Ambition is one thing, but luck definitely helps, too. A luck that Sigg enjoys just as Marco Polo would have enjoyed it.

I would argue that, through a chain of coincidences and an array of personal motives, Sigg was able to witness from an intimate closeness the awakening of China during the Open Door policy. It awoke from its almost two-hundred-year coma. You could even suggest that Sigg played a part in awakening this giant. When he visited the People’s Republic of China for the first time, even less was known about the country than today about North Korea. The country and its people didn’t even know that much about themselves. Sigg travelled, negotiated, managed, sweat, froze, learned and taught like almost no other Westerner before him. He encountered Chinese presidents and evasive RAF terrorists. Ai Weiwei told me: Uli was always the maker.

Contemporary historians view China’s start into the 21st Century as the most momentous transformation of any society in world history. Not only was Sigg a part of this transformation, he also wanted to understand it. He realised that art may be the best way of achieving this, more so than all the diplomatic dinners, business deals, business trips or media reports put together.

Contemporary Chinese art, as we have seen it in Sigg’s collection, is a unique witness of China’s transformation. Of its reconstruction, of its destruction. It is a coincidental and yet curious metaphor that Sigg was involved in building lifts for Schindler. Personally he wanted to reach new heights, but through and with China. To me Uli Sigg’s Chinese lives are also a story about the modernisation of China. The artworks in his collection appear to tell stories about an unprecedented epoch filled with economic, social and ecological changes. The film gives, next to Sigg and other Western experts and friends, Chinese artists of three generations and their works to have a voice. They don’t speak so much about art. Instead, we let art and artists speak about society.

In the three years that I spent with Marcel Hoehn, Filip Zumbrunn, Feng Membo, Patrick Kull, and later Dieter Meier, Marina Wernli and many others who have worked on the film; that I spent with Uli Sigg, his wife Rita and the other protagonists, I have changed my outlook not only on China, but also on our time. On that which we call globalisation.

For this I am grateful to all participants, especially to Uli and Rita Sigg.

Michael Schindhelm

Synopsis Nov 24 Production Sheet Nov 24
Awwwards

Director’s Note

Die Geschichte von Marco Polo ist unendlich. In Variationen wird sie weitererzählt. Bis heute. Jemand bricht auf ins Unbekannte. Er kommt zurück und berichtet. Manchmal glaubt man ihm nicht. Marco Polo zum Beispiel hat man nicht geglaubt. Einen Angeber hat man ihn genannt. Messer Milione, weil in China angeblich alles soviel größer gewesen sei. Uli Sigg hat der Gefahr, dass man ihm nicht glauben könnte, vorgebeugt und die größte Sammlung chinesischer Gegenwartskunst angelegt. 2200 Werke sprechen für sich. Und für Uli Sigg. Seine chinesischen Leben.

Als ich Sigg am Rande unserer Dreharbeiten zur Dokumentation Bird’s Nest kennengelernt habe, ist mir sofort aufgegangen, dass dieser Mann nicht nur ein Leben führt, sondern mehrere. Gleichzeitig und nacheinander. Ich würde mindestens drei zählen. Dreimal Leben im Ausnahmezustand.

1979 gehörte er zu jenen Abenteurern, die Rotchina von den Vorzügen der Marktwirtschaft überzeugen wollten. Ihm ist das gelungen, und er hat zwölf lange, harte, faszinierende und manchmal absurde Jahre lang für die Firma Schindler das erste Joint Venture in Peking geleitet.

1995 wurde er Schweizer Botschafter in Peking. Natürlich nicht irgendein Karrierediplomat. Schließlich kannte er Präsident Jiang Zemin aus alten Schindler-Zeiten, und er kannte den Untergrund der Kunstszene. Begann systematisch zu sammeln. Künstler wie Fang Lijun oder Wang Guangyi haben ihn nie als einen Sammler gesehen, der Geld verdienen will. Ai Weiwei hat die Preise für seine eigenen Werke immer heruntergehandelt. Leute wie sie wussten, dass ein Großteil der chinesischen Gegenwartskunst dieser Jahre für immer zerstört oder verschwunden wäre, hätte Sigg sich nicht darum gekümmert.

Seit bald zwanzig Jahren pendelt Sigg zwischen seinem Wasserschlösschen nahe Luzern und China. So sind wir uns 2003 begegnet. Herzog und de Meuron suchten seine Hilfe bei der Vorbereitung zum Wettbewerb um den Bau des Olympiastadions in Peking. Ohne ihn, haben mir Jacques und Pierre damals schon gesagt, werden wir das nie hinkriegen. Sigg war damals schon der einflussreichste Mann in Sachen chinesischer Gegenwartskunst, Berater in Politik und Wirtschaft.

Aber nicht das macht seine ungewöhnlichen Leben so interessant. Es ist nicht nur Ehrgeiz, sondern auch Glück im Spiel. Glück, das Sigg genießt. So wie Marco Polo es genossen hätte.

Sigg hat – ich behaupte, dank einer Kette von Zufällen und einer Reihe persönlicher Motive – aus intimer Nähe erleben können, wie dieser chinesische Riese 1979 mit der “Politik der Offenen Tür” aus seinem fast zweihundertjährigem Koma erwacht ist. Man könnte sogar sagen, Sigg hat einen Beitrag dazu geleistet, den Riesen aufzuwecken. Als er die Volksrepublik China erstmals besuchte, war über dieses Land weit weniger bekannt als heute über Nordkorea. Das Land und seine Menschen wussten nicht viel über sich selbst. Sigg ist gereist, hat verhandelt, gemanaget, geschwitzt, gefroren, gelernt und gelehrt wie kaum sonst ein Westler. Er ist chinesischen Präsidenten und flüchtigen RAF-Terroristen begegnet. Ai Weiwei hat mir über ihn gesagt: Uli was always the maker.

Chinas Aufbruch ins 21. Jahrhundert wird von Zeithistorikern als die folgenreichste Transformation einer Gesellschaft in der Weltgeschichte gesehen. Sigg war nicht nur dabei, sondern er hat diese Transformation verstehen wollen. Er hat begriffen, dass die Kunst vielleicht ein besseres Instrument dazu ist als alle diplomatischen Dinner, Geschäftsverhandlungen, Dienstreisen oder Medienreportagen zusammen.

Die chinesische Gegenwartskunst, wie wir sie aus Siggs Sammlung kennen, ist ein einzigartiger Zeuge der Transformation Chinas. Seines Neuaufbaus, der Zerstörungen. Es ist eine zufällige, aber kuriose Metapher, dass Sigg Aufzüge hat konstruieren lassen. Er wollte auch persönlich in die Höhe, aber durch und mit China. Für mich sind die chinesischen Leben Uli Siggs auch eine Geschichte über die Modernisierung Chinas. Die Kunstwerke seiner Sammlung treten auf wie Geschichtenerzähler über eine nie dagewesene Epoche wirtschaftlicher, sozialer und ökologischer Umbrüche. Daher kommen im Film neben Sigg und anderen westlichen Experten und Freunden vor allem chinesische Künstler dreier Generationen und ihre Werke zu Wort. Sie sprechen nicht so sehr über Kunst, vielmehr lassen wir Kunst und Künstler über die Gesellschaft sprechen.

Die drei Jahre, die ich mit Marcel Hoehn, Filip Zumbrunn, Feng Membo, Patrick Kull, später Dieter Meier, Marina Wernli und vielen anderen an dem Film gearbeitet, die ich mit Uli Sigg, seiner Frau Rita und den anderen Protagonisten verbracht habe, haben meinen Blick nicht nur auf China, sondern auf unsere Zeit verändert. Auf das, was wir Globalisierung nennen.

Ich bin allen Beteiligten, insbesondere Uli und Rita Sigg selbst, dafür sehr dankbar.

Michael Schindhelm

Synopsis 24. Nov Production Sheet 24. Nov
Awwwards